STRINGS OF GRATITUDE

Dear Friends,

The voting of the Nigeria blog awards is still going on.

I appreciate everyone who has voted for KINGDOM COME.

If you have not been able to yet, kindly do so.

VOTE…http://nigerianblogawards.com/vote2013.php

KINGDOM COME (EKPO EZECHINYERE) under best faith-based blog.

I love you all!

 

Image

I traveled to Eku in Delta state, Nigeria recently for a celebration of some sort and something happened there that will stick with me forever.

We were to leave the next morning which was a Saturday but the compound was littered with so much rubbish we tried to hire some people to get the cleaning done. Unfortunately they were tied up somewhere else.

Looking at all that rubbish made my heart sink, but since we could not leave without cleaning up, I went over to the next compound to borrow a rake. They did not have one but they offered a “compound broom”, stout broomsticks attached to a long wooden handle. To make my work light, I attached my earpiece and started grooving to “Jesus Culture” and “Nathaniel Bassey. With good inspirational music I can move a mountain without feeling stressed.

While working and nodding to the sweet strains pouring from my earpiece, four kids appeared and made their intention to help me known. I felt they were too small to get the work done but they were resolute in their request, so I gave in and took up a supervisory role instead. I learnt a lesson from that incident, which is to start whatever you have to do in spite of the odds and help would show up out of nowhere. Those kids showed up because I rolled up my sleeves (was wearing a T-shirt though) and put my back to the work. Instead of spending all that time pondering on the size of the mountain, JUST START! Even if you have to move it a pebble at a time, start! However, that is a story for another day.

They got tired and listless along the way but I kept egging them on and helped until the compound was cleared. When I called them for their rewards, before I did anything, they started genuflecting, saying “mingwo (thank you)” a couple of times. What I know is “mi gwo” but I guess the “mingwo” version might be a bit of variation in the kid’s dialect. Anyway, it sounded refreshingly different.

Their age range was between 11 and 5, the eldest was a girl and the others were boys. I gave the girl N1000.00 and the others N500.00. That was when the drama started. She looked at the money like she was in a trance, flipped it, and then screamed one thousand. She showed it to her siblings and shouted one thousand, then ran to their compound delirious with joy. She could not believe her eyes! They ran back to me saying “mingwo” endlessly, and then went back to their house. Before I left, they still came to say bye, bye and “mingwo”.

It was a dramatic scene that got me smiling and then laughing hysterically. I felt so good for giving and could have given them anything I had the capacity to give at that moment. I was so touched, so moved.

It was a lesson for me, in that they thanked me in expectation and thanked me effusively for coming through beyond their wildest dreams. I kind of knew how Jesus felt about the leper that came back to say thank you.

I realized that the grateful person has so much power. A person of gratitude spins strings that pull the giver’s heart. Such a one is like a puppeteer that controls the emotions of the giver. Gratitude has power! Thanksgiving is a weapon all should have in their arsenal. I understood better, the Yoruba proverb that says that if a child gives thanks for some kindness, that child is positioned by default to receive another act of kindness. It dawned on me why Jesus had to give thanks before calling forth Lazarus. Resurrecting a man who had been dead for three days is an amazing feat but after he thanked His Father, an unprecedented event was precipitated. He moved the heart of His Father and His Father moved the gates of Hades on his behalf.

I did not die for nor heal that little girl, I did not protect her from arm robbers or Boko Haram, I did not give her another shot at life, I did not make her see another dawn, I did not give her daily bread, neither did I pay her school fees or provide her with her a husband or a child, I did not clothe or accommodate her, yet she went mad with joy. She thanked me deliriously because I gave her a measly one thousand naira note. Do you have a reason to be thankful? Is there anyone who has done any of the things I did not and could not do for the little girl for you? Is there someone deserving of your mingwo? Is there???…Enough said………

Image

I will enter his gates with thanksgiving in my heart…..

Dear Friends,

The voting of the Nigeria blog awards is still going on.

I appreciate everyone who has voted for KINGDOM COME.

If you have not been able to yet, kindly do so.

VOTE…http://nigerianblogawards.com/vote2013.php

KINGDOM COME (EKPO EZECHINYERE) under best faith-based blog.

I love you all!

© 2013 Ekpo Ezechinyere

14 thoughts on “STRINGS OF GRATITUDE

  1. Piece so beautifully written
    Truths so wonderfully told
    A writer this adept
    Must have quite some depth….

    I wish, as Saul, to be schooled by you
    Good master Gamaliel
    To have half as much your wit with the pen
    And wield these words, as swords are by men

    Like

  2. wonderful piece. May we never forget the ‘little things’ that matter most. Gratitude is a powerful force that can move mountains.
    Keep writing…Shalom!

    Like

  3. I haven’t been here in a while but coming here and reading this, I can’t just help but say perfect timing. My gratitude to God of late has been very lacking of excitement but I just got a hard slap back to doing the right thing and doing it wholeheartedly. I can imagine the joy of the leper who came back to say thanks. Sometimes sef we get so happy and forget to say thank you.
    God uplift u for uplifting my spirit, Doc Swag

    Like

Leave a Reply

